Town of Amherst

The Town of Amherst serves as the county seat of Amherst County. The town was incorporated in 1910 and is situated on the topographic divide separating Tribulation Creek and Rutledge Creek. It was renamed from its original names “The Oaks” and “Seven Oaks” in 1807, after Nelson County divided from Amherst County. As of the 2017 population estimate, the town has a total population of 2,519.